DUI Penalty Chart

DUI Penalty Chart

DUI Penalties

Washington State has some of the stiffest penalties for DUI in the nation. Unlike other crimes, a DUI conviction carries with it a mandatory minimum penalty. The following chart shows what you can expect if convicted of a DUI.

First DUI Conviction

BAC less than .15% OR no test result BAC .15% or higher OR test refusal
Jail-Time Minimum or Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM) 24 hours jail or 15 days EHM 48 hours jail or 30 days EHM
Jail-Time Maximum One year One year
Fine $350 to $5,000 $500 to $5,000
License Suspension 90 days 1 year, 2 years if BAC refused
Ignition Interlock Required One year after suspension
Alcohol/Drug Treatment One day to two years depending on assessment One day to two years depending on assessment
Probation Five years Five years

Second DUI Conviction

BAC less than .15% OR no test result BAC .15% or higher OR test refusal
Jail-Time Minimum 30 days 45 days
Jail-Time Maximum One year One year
Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM) 60 days 90 days
Fine $500 to $5,000 $750 to $5,000
License Suspension Two years 2.5 years,3 years if BAC refused
Ignition Interlock Five years if previously restricted Five years if previously restricted
Alcohol/drug Assessment Yes Yes
Probation Five years Five years

 

Third DUI Conviction

BAC less than .15% OR no test result BAC .15% or higher OR test refusal
Jail-Time Minimum 90 days 120 days
Jail-Time Maximum One year One year
Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM) 120 days 150 days
Fine $1,000 to $5,000 $1,500 to $5,000
License Suspension Three years Four years
Ignition Interlock Ten years if previously restricted for five Ten years if previously restricted for five
Alcohol/drug Assessment Yes Yes
Probation Five years Five years

Adapted from Washington COURT – DUI Sentencing Grid (RCW 46.61.5055 as amended)